WHAT TO DO WHEN YOUR CHILD BRINGS HOME A MAMI WATA

http://africa.si.edu/exhibits/mamiwata/intro.html
‘Mami Wata’ by Zoumana Sane, Senegal. Photo: Don Cole.

Although Mami Wata have long co-existed alongside man, many of us have never encountered any of these sea entities before, seeing as they choose to remain in their territories – apart from occasional forays on land.

However, with the recent influx of these Wata migrants coming in from polluted oceans and seas, there is a greater likelihood that much more of us will meet a Mami Wata in our lifetime.

The manual below attempts to provide some sort of framework for addressing any personal Mami Wata encounters one might have in the future.

All links included within the article, below, are fully functional.

WHAT TO DO WHEN YOUR CHILD BRINGS HOME A MAMI WATA

5 thoughts on “WHAT TO DO WHEN YOUR CHILD BRINGS HOME A MAMI WATA

  1. So very useful. I will pass this on to my colleagues who were asking me for a theoretical intervention on the ejection of mammi-wata. The ejection process is not really my speciality. I’m more interested in the migratory patterns, so I’m glad to have your contribution here. I will certainly list in my bibliography for any future researchers. And thank you for that citation. I was hoping someone would be able to use that little migration project I worked on in 2012 while procrastinating finishing the dissertation. I’m so pleased it was useful. Let me go see if google has picked it up for my h-index yet … Question: what do you think about attempting ethnographic research in the Water Spirit realm. Do you think it would be possible to do participant observation without succumbing to the trance mode they tend to place on human subjects? Maybe a questionnaire would be simpler…

Leave a Reply

