Look, eh. In fact, I have no words.

I woke up suddenly around 5.50 am. Two minutes later I could not move for the cobweb of question marks entangling me in bed. People were congratulating me on twitter. What for? I thought ‘Must be some sort of mistake’ as you do. Had I been tweeting while under the influence again? (Damn you, coffee-flavoured rum from Mauritius!)

Nope. I’d been nominated for the 2014 Shirley Jackson awards in the category of short fiction!

ABOUT THE AWARDS.

My shock lasted about a minute. Then, as I started to respond to goodwill tweets, the crone that lives in my head cackled. “Lookie here, lookie here. Think she something, lounging around like the Queen of Sheba. Git up, clean yo damn house. It’s filthy. And fix that boy something to eat. You ain’t even finished a chapter since yesterday. Git yo ass up, girl. You ain’t shit!”

Hmmm. Perhaps I was channelling Mama Keating there.

In spite of her, I am honoured to be nominated – have you seen that list??! I’ll cherish this nom always. It’s my first one.

Please hunt down and read as many of the nominated works as you can. What better way to spend the weekend? I am going to be doing so, as soon as I get my chapter done or Mama Keating will wreck me.

Here’s a link to my nominated story, ‘Candy Girl’.

ALUTA CONTINUA! Have a lovely weekend!

13 thoughts on “Look, eh. In fact, I have no words.

  1. amaze balls story!!!! where did you even get the idea and inspiration for that???!! I can only imagine what it will be like to be turned into chocolate AND eaten??!!! wow!! Love it and congratulations again!

  2. Huge congratulations! Thrilled to hear this news this morning. A fabulous story, and such lovely company!

  3. A Grand and Hearty Congratulations to a hard working daughter, mother, and wife. I will always say that the sky is your ‘beginning’ not your limit. I will drown myself with a glass of choicest red wine from the family bar in Naija!

    Osodieme

Leave a Reply

