IT COULD HAPPEN TO YOU.

(I did this post last night but the feeling stays).

Today, I am both ashamed and afraid to be Nigerian.

I don’t know what happened in Aluu  – I don’t care for the conflicting accounts. All I know is that four (some accounts say thee) Univeristy of Port Harcourt boys were stripped naked, beaten and burnt to death on the SUSPICION of being robbers. They were tried on the spot by elders of the community too. How’s that for 21st century Nigerian justice?

It reminded me of the Bakassi Boys from when I was a teenager in Anambra state – those fierce men of indeterminate origin who were sanctioned to rid the state of ‘armed robbers’ by any means necessary. This audio I made will tell you what you need to know. I apologise, it is unscripted and I an popping like crazy so obviously have shamed my broadcasting trainers. And I am talking slowly because I am angry and when I get angry, I am incoherent. I had to slow down for you to hear me.

6 thoughts on “IT COULD HAPPEN TO YOU.

  1. Terrible. I haven’t watched any of the videos or seen any of the pictures, just hearing/reading about it is enough.
    I don’t even know what to say. Decades have gone by and nothing’s changed.
    Just terrible.

  2. At first I said I wasn’t going to watch the video because I knew the end result. I eventually did and till this day I’ve never been the same. A part of my soul died as I watched the brutality and I don’t think I can ever have respect for anyone in that community (and anywhere else that Jungle Justice is practised) ever again. The government is to blame because we don’t have the enforcement of laws to prevent or deter such barbaric acts. Dogs are not treated like this, let alone human beings.

    If you haven’t seen the video or pictures then take it from me – don’t.

  3. Ahh Bakassi. Memories. To think at some point, I was one of the blood thirsty masses who thought the thieves had it coming. Where there is no law or order, basic instincts reign.

    God rest their souls.

Leave a Reply

