Maudlin Monday.

image

image

  • This is the view from one of my windows. The first one was taken around five o’clock and the second around seven o’clock. I keep trying to paint this scene but I never get the colours right. What can I say? I’m a novice.
  • Hubs interviewed Linda Ikeji today. Her blog  is one subject we do not agree on. But you know, bless the hustle and all that.
  • I must have written about 2,000 words all day today. This post does not count. My editor is terribly English – and a bit posh. When he scolds me, it feels like being chastised by 007.
  • I had about eight nightmares yesterday night. I slipped from one into another. It happens when I am stressed.
  • I used to write poetry a lot; pages and pages of the stuff. At about 20 I had two poems sent off for publication by a friend in  the Abuja Literary Society. In subsequent reviews, I was  referred to as a ‘He’. It pleased me. It had a certain Brontë-esque quality.
  • I found a poem I wrote a while ago. I would love to have a reply to it, or your take on it, in any form. I was trying to tell a story as succinctly as possible. I hope I succeeded. It’s called ‘You Good?

He asks ‘You good?’
And I know the mood

But when I step in his life
He likens me to a ‘bored housewife’
Hurries off Central
When our eyes meet
At Bond Street

So when he asks ‘You good?’
I say ‘Hey. I’m good’.

  • Ugh. It’s one of those days. I am full of self-loathing.
11 thoughts on “Maudlin Monday.

  1. nice view…but seriously the day breaks at 5am….meanwhile dont be hating on Linda Ikeji’s blog…..dats my go-to for the latest gossip from naija….lol

    1. Forgot to comment on the poem…all because of Linda…Mchseww…

      Anyways….still trying to decode the meaning of the poem…is this an excerpt or the mother lode….keeps me panting for more….

  2. i love the 7’0clock view.
    my small mind does not really understand the poem
    l saw the pictures on Linda’s blog……….thats your husband? coooollll

  3. Nice sun about to set :) Aint you lucky with the weather. It was rainy skies ALL DAY yesterday. Windy and cold. grrrrrr.
    Nne, I cant decipher that poem oo. too cryptic for my utara laden brain. biko kowanshiate :p

    2000 words? you are a star!

  4. Okay, I’m gonna be brave and try.

    Here goes; the poem talks about a friendship between two people (obviously :) ). The ‘He’ is repeatedly concerned about the goings in the poet’s life. He tries to provide the ears and shoulders, defines and resolves happenings while keeping the things that concerns him to himself; when the poet reciprocates or meddles as he does. Thus, the poet becomes like him. Secretive.

    ‘When our eyes meet ; At Bond Street’ – I cant seem to unpuzzle.

    Shoot me now. Epic fail? Teasha :) i have nightmares when i’m scored zero.

Leave a Reply

